Max & Peggy Becker Lifetime Volunteer Award Recipient

Office of International Programs honors the efforts of volunteers

Each spring, the Office of International Programs and Colorado State University seek to recognize an outstanding community volunteer (individual or couple) who has worked closely with the Office of International Programs toward continuous efforts in the area of international outreach over the last two years. The recipient will be recognized for significant lifetime volunteer acts that have helped promote international education and understanding within the larger CSU and Fort Collins community. Examples include organizing international awareness events, assisting with international student activities, volunteer leadership involvement in non-profit international organizations, and repeatedly helping international friends/guests or showing exceptional compassion as a global citizen. The recipient is recognized at the Office of International Programs and Fort Collins International Center’s Volunteer Appreciation Party.


2017 Max and Peggy Becker Lifetime Award winner

Congratulations to Adina Dumitrache, the 2017 recipient of the Max & Peggy Becker Lifetime Volunteer Award!

Adina Dumitrache, Chair of the International Women’s Group from 2013 – 2017, was recognized by the Office of International Programs at CSU for her outstanding contributions to the international community of Fort Collins. International Women’s Group, the Office of International Programs, Apartment Life, CSU international and domestic students, scholars, and their families and the greater Fort Collins community have all benefitted from Adina’s vision for the Women’s Group. In 2017, International Women’s Group was the most creative and active women’s group that many people at CSU have ever seen. Spouses and their children had the opportunity to get involved in many meaningful ways – which had an immediate and long-term impact in our community. International and domestic families took away fond memories and great experiences from 2017 and years to come because of Adina’s work the past several years.

Previous Max and Peggy Becker Lifetime Award Winners:

  • 2016 – Roy Mongelli
  • 2015 – Karen Smith
  • 2014 – Lisa Bogdanski
  • 2013 – Steven Fletcher
  • 2012 – Nancy Murray, Mark Oberschmidt
  • 2011 – Jane Babcock
  • 2010 – Lucy She
  • 2009 – Ruth Jakubauskas
  • 2008 – Jean Griswold
  • 2007 – Betty Shoemaker
  • 2006 – Gail Woods
  • 2005 – Nancy and Robert Sturtevant
  • 2004 – Larry and Beverly Webber
  • 2003 – Alice Rule